When you begin using the Shrimpy application, one of the first things you will notice is the use of portfolios on the "Portfolio" tab. This feature allows users to create as many different sets of allocations and strategies as they desire. These different portfolios can then be used to quickly switch between different asset allocations based on the state of the market, personal strategies, and more. 

There are a three major rules the Shrimpy application will follow when it comes to creating and managing portfolios.

  1. Only one portfolio can be activated at any given time. 
  2. There must always be an active portfolio on your account after creating your first portfolio. This means that as soon as you create your first portfolio, Shrimpy will automatically "Activate" that portfolio.
  3. The portfolio which is currently "Activated" is the portfolio which will be allocated on the exchange when the "Rebalance Now" button is selected.

The results of these rules may be confusing at first, but they simplify the process once they are understood. In this way, we can quickly understand what actions are not possible and what actions are encouraged. For example, no portfolio can be "Deactivated", instead, a new portfolio should be "Activated". This will essentially "Deactivate" the old portfolio and then "Activate" the new portfolio. 

These rules also apply to the social features. Leaders cannot be "Deactivated". Either a custom portfolio or a new leader should be selected as the current "Active" portfolio if you wish to no longer follow the changes from a leader. 

Did this answer your question?