On March 10, 2020, the Shrimpy team has removed the blacklist feature with the release of multi-portfolios. The reason we have removed this feature is because it is no longer necessary. Instead of blacklisting assets, users should now use the multi-portfolio feature to segment their funds. 

Example: If you have $1,000 in BTC and want Shrimpy to automate $500 and want the other $500 to be blacklisted, you can create two different portfolios. One portfolio could be the blacklist portfolio which you don't automate and the other could be the active portfolio that you use for trading.

How blacklists will be handled in the transition

When the new multi-portfolio features were rolled out, we automatically set up portfolios to mimic this new behavior. What that means is any asset that was blacklisted has been put into a separate portfolio from the assets that were being automated by Shrimpy.

The blacklisted assets were placed in the default portfolio without any automation strategy attached to the funds. Therefore, no trading strategies will automatically trade the previously blacklisted assets. 

All of the assets that were previously being blacklisted by Shrimpy are now placed into a new portfolio that has the automation strategy attached to the portfolio. These funds will continue to be automated by Shrimpy in a way that matches previous behavior.

How to manage portfolios

In order to manage your blacklisted assets, you can use the "Manage Portfolios" button that is located at the top of the dashboard. 

This button will open a dialog which can be used to transfer funds between portfolios. The steps to transfer funds are:

  1. Select the portfolio you would like to transfer from.
  2. Select the portfolio you would like to transfer to from the drop-down next to "Transfer funds to". (You can create a new portfolio using "+ Create Portfolio" if you don't have multiple portfolios)
  3. Select the assets you would like to transfer.
  4. Click "Move Funds"
  5. The funds will then be transferred. You can see the updated changes on your dashboard.

How to edit your automation (strategy)

The strategy that is currently "automating" your portfolio of assets that are not blacklisted can be found on the "Automation" tab. This tab is the new place where you will be able to design new automations, attach strategies to portfolios, and more.

The automation that is currently active for your portfolio is marked with a green check mark. Changing your strategy on this page will automatically update the way the portfolio is automated.

If you want to completely change the automation that is automating your portfolio, simply select the new portfolio and click "Start Automation". You can then select the portfolio(s) you want to automate with that strategy and then click "Start". 

Portfolios without Automations

In the past, Shrimpy required every exchange account to have an active strategy at all times. This meant that instead of "deactivating" strategies, you would only be able to "activate" a new strategy.

This behavior has changed. Shrimpy now allows everyone to completely remove "Automations" (the new name for strategies) from a portfolio. That means a portfolio would have no automation attached and therefore not trade. 

In order to remove an automation, simply select "Start Automation" on the automation you want to remove from the portfolio. A popup will display the portfolios that are linked to this automation. Deselect any portfolio you no longer want to link to this automation and click "Start". This will disable the automation for that portfolio.

Accumulating via Blacklist

The accumulating via blacklist strategy (previously described in our blog post here) is no longer available due to the removal of the blacklisting feature. Although this is an unfortunate affect of these changes, we would like to design a formal strategy in the future that is specifically intended for accumulation. 

At this time, accumulation can continue through the manual transfer of funds between portfolios. 

What else?

There are a lot of changes made with this latest release. Please take a moment to review the changes. We have also released blog posts that describes all of the changes in detail on our blog. 

Did this answer your question?